Systema Nervosum

 

By Karianne Gabaldon

               

In October of 2021, I, Karianne, started feeling a bit odd. I started getting severe headaches, feeling incredibly dizzy, and for some odd reason I started getting these facial ticks on my right side and jerks of the right hand and right leg, right foot as well. The right side of my face from the top of my head down to my jaw started getting tingly and painful, my body started getting super painful to the point I was using a heating pad every night, and my vision started to fade to dark occasionally. My PCP thought I was about to have a stroke so he referred me to a neurologist.

Eventually, I started having seizures, which I had no idea they were seizures until my neurologist I am now seeing said they are. I pass out but don’t lose complete consciousness and instead my eyes convulse and I wake up confused and disoriented after each episode. My whole body doesn’t convulse—just my eyes. The episodes can last up to a few minutes, maybe even longer, but most of the time they don’t last very long.

In January of 2022, everything just came crashing down. It felt like I had nowhere to go and everyone whom I was closest to around me didn’t understand. My hand jerking started occurring about every 10 minutes, maybe even less, I started getting paresthesia in my face and on the right side, I started losing balance and coordination; I actually have to put a straw in my coffee cup or tea cup because I’m afraid to drop the cup and break it. I can’t write or text without having to go back and retype what I wrote because of my hand jerking. There are times where I cannot stay awake and my speech is slurred, I mumble, making me sound like I’m drunk. It’s embarrassing!

Basically I’m a mess. But my doctor did say I have something called neuralgia. But that’s just a symptom. The tricky situation is finding out the real diagnosis. I guess we’ll see. This is my journey journal. Come along with me through me ups and downs! I’d appreciate it! 

JANUARY 30th, 2022

So, today, mentally, was fantastic! Physically not so well. Between my certain body jerks, my MS hugs, numbness/tingling, dizziness, brain fog, and sleeping for hours today, I just want to quit. I’m actually getting frustrated with writing this post right now because even though I’m writing super slow, I keep messing up. Once again, my hand, arm, leg, BACK, and head jerk. My back just started today. And the damn tip of my tongue is hurting right now and I can’t concentrate. Let’s just put it this way—I don’t think I have ever been sicker in my life. And I’ve been in and out of hospitals since birth. So, thanks family and friends for not understanding. I really feel at home. Well, my hand is really bothering me I think I will end today’s entry. I love you guys so much! Thanks for tuning in!

Love, Karianne N. Gabaldon

Leave a comment