The Cottontail Slaughter

By Karianne Gabaldon 

© 2022-2023 All Rights Reserved.

Dedicated to Dr. Johnson, my psychiatrist, and Amanda, my counselor. You two keep me sane… for the most part.

Something has gone awry in Middleton, Wisconsin. It started out with missing children, then once the children were found things just got worse. Adults started being captured as well. And the children they found weren’t just murdered; it was awful, the victims were sliced and cut up. They finally found the murderer, but it was too late. Havoc had already been wreaked all over Middleton. The murderer was wearing a white and pink suit, along with a dreadful, bloody bunny mask. He was using a whip sword to murder all of his victims. Everybody in Middleton was all sure of one thing: Slicer wasn’t going to stop. When was he going to stop? At this point, Middleton was a fearful place, and a place where everybody feared for their lives.

In the town of Middleton…

“Delilah, dinner!” Jasey, Delilah’s mother, yelled from downstairs.

“Not now, mom, I’m reading!” Delilah yelled from her upstairs bedroom.

“Delilah Dresden, you get downstairs to this table this instant!”

“Jesus Christ,” Delilah whispered to herself as she slammed her book, The Final Girl Support Group.

“Delilah!” Jasey yelled once more.

“I’m coming!” Delilah smarted off.

Before Delilah could get to her bedroom door, a whisper came through the window. Delilah looked back and saw moving curtains. She tilted her head, squinted her eyes, then shrugged and continued. But, when Delilah turned back again, there he was. 6-ft tall, pink and white suit with a white tie and pink Mary-Jane Shoes with white female dress socks, a soft tan, slender body, and a creepy white bunny mask with green eyes, a fragile grin, and blood dripping from its mouth. Delilah looked down and saw he was carrying an Urumi sword. She opened her mouth to scream, but the bunny man had already grabbed her by the throat. Delilah was gasping for air as well as trying to scream, but he has such a strong grip on Delilah that she instead just slowly drifted out of consciousness. 

“That’s it, young lady; I’m coming up there! But if I have to open this door, you’re grounded! You hear me?” Jasey hollered from the stairwell.

The bunny man lifted Delilah up by her throat as her legs dangled. He threw her up in the air as he slit her throat. She collapsed down to the floor, drenched in her own warm blood and fighting for her life. She tried calling out for her mom, as her mom kept yelling at her coming up the stairs, but Delilah couldn’t speak. 

Bunny man left the room and left Delilah for dead.

“What is so important that— “

Jasey opened the door.

“Oh… oh, no… oh my God!” She screamed, holding her mouth and convulsing. 

She picked Delilah up and held her, sitting down.

“My baby… my baby… my baby!” her voice trembled.

… And that was the first time that Slicer ever made himself fully known…

I

“So, Charlie, tell me how many guys you’ve slept with,” Sadie asked as Sadie and her three friends were sneaking a cigarette in the bathroom from Sadie’s parents.

Holly laughed.

“Sadie!” Charlie snapped.

“What? It’s a reasonable question,” Sadie said.

“I already told you.”

“Yes, but I was plastered last night,” Sadie chuckled. “Tell me again!”

“Well one doesn’t count because he was your dad.”

“Ha. Ha.” Sadie said sarcastically.

“In short, I’d say about nine.”

Holly gasped.

“Nine? Holy shit, you must have a Grand Canyon hole then!” Sadie and Holly laugh.

“Wow, fuck you, Sadie,” Charlie glared.

“I’m kidding, my love. You know I’m kidding,” Sadie smiled.

“What about you, miss perfect?” asked Charlie.

“Whoa, never said I was perfect.”

“Answer the question!”

“Two, maybe three.”

“Maybe?”

“Yeah, can’t remember.”

“Wow, I may be a whore, but at least I can remember!”

Holly laughed again.

“What the fuck is so hilarious, Holly? How many guys have you been with?” asked Charlie.

“Me?” Holly laughed. “I’m a virgin, thank you!”

“What? No way!” Sadie begged to differ.

“What? You don’t believe me?”

“No!” Sadie and Charlie laughed.

“Why?”

“The way you talk is not innocent, like, at all. You talk like you’re a professional prostitute. How could you be a virgin?” Charlie asked, dumbfounded.

While all were laughing, Jade, Sadie’s little sister, came into Sadie’s bathroom.

“Sis, just a head’s up, mom just pulled up, you might want to put that cigarette out,” said Jade.

“Thanks, Jade,” said Sadie.

“Yeah, thanks,” said Charlie.

“It’s all good.” Jade walked back to her room as the girls threw their butts in the toilet bowl.

“Sadie! Jade!” Heather, their mom, yells from downstairs.

“Shit, shit, spray yourself with this,” Sadie hands everyone her Juicy Couture ‘Viva La Juicy’ perfume.

“My breath!” Kalia smells her breath.

I have some water in my room. Drink up! Just gargle then swallow.

“Girls!” she yelled once more.

“Coming, mom!” Sadie gargles some water then swallows, smells herself and her hands, then all of the girls walk downstairs.

“Yes, mom?” Sadie asked.

“There’s been an accident. Charlie, Holly, Kalia… I think you girls need to go. I’ll have Argon take you home.”

“Yes, Mrs. Garrison.” The three girls went back upstairs to get ready to leave.

“Mom? What kind of accident?” Jade asked.

“Do you girls know Delilah? She went to your school.”

“Yes,” they both said, worried.

“Delilah was murdered last night. Her mom, Jasey, found her in her room on her floor, somebody had slit her throat.”

“Oh my God,” Sadie started tearing up. 

“Did they see who did it!” asked Jade.

“Sadly, no. But now there’s a killer on the loose and who knows when and where he’ll strike next! We have to stick together. Sadie and Jade, no going to other peoples’ houses, or anywhere past eight at night. You understand me?”

“But mom, I— “Sadie tried.

Do you understand me?” 

“Yeah, I do. I can’t believe this is happening…” Jade’s voice started whispering. 

“Yes, mom.”

“And what about you, Jade?”

“I know, Jade,” said Heather.

“I’m going up to my room,” said Sadie.

“Same,” said Jade.

“Okay, love you girls. Argon!” Heather yelled.

“Yes?” Argon came walking up to Heather, followed by Kalia, Holly, then Charlie.

“I need you to take these three home.”

I know,” Argon’s voice drifted.

“Argon…”

“Yes?” Argon grunted.

“Be careful…,” said Heather.

“You got it. Come on, girls!”

Argon and the girls glided out the door, whilst Heather started cooking up dinner. Spaghetti. Sadie’s favorite. 

“No, you are not!” Sadie’s eyes glistened as she walked into the kitchen from smelling the spaghetti.

“Yes; yes, I am.”

“Mom, I love you.” Sadie kissed Heather’s forehead leaving Heather with a shit grin.

“How was school?” Heather asked.

“Oh, you know… school,” Sadie stuck her tongue out in disgust.

“Wait. Just you wait until adulthood,” Heather chuckled.

“Kids are mean. Otherwise, I’d love school.”

“I get it. You know, your old mom was bullied all throughout high school.”

Sadie’s eyes suddenly pooled of hopelessness, “oh my God, mom.”

“My point is, Sadene, is that even though I hated school, it’s something you have to do. And hey, you’re getting into an amazing college, so don’t you even fret!” Heather tapped Sadie’s nose.

“I love you,” Sadie laughed.

“Hey, could you please do me a favor and toss me the oregano?” Heather said oregano like it was something fancy.

“Here.”

“Great, now go wash up, and tell your sister that dinner’s almost ready.”

“Jade!”  Sadie’s loud voice dragged on for what felt like seven seconds.

“Now, Sadene, was that really necessary?” asked Heather.

“Yes, mom. It was…. It was.”

“Go wash up,” Heather flicked her wrist and chuckled.

As soon as Sadie got upstairs, Jade opened her bedroom door.

“Dude, I called your name!” exclaimed Sadie.

“Sorry, I was talking to Adam.”

“Oh God, you’re still with that puke?” Sadie gagged herself.

“He’s not a puke, and yes. I love him.”

Sadie gagged herself once more.

“Sadie! Stop!” Jade huffed and puffed. 

“Wash up, it’s almost Dinnertime.”

“What’re we having?”

“Spaghetti,” Sadie grinned.

“Yuck.”

“You love it.”

“Sure, I do. I’ll be downstairs,” Jade glared.

Meanwhile…

Cathy’s Café was owned by a 62-year-old lady who had started her business back in the 70’s. The place was always tidied and in order and had great food. Like any café, Cathy Sutherland only made breakfast. She had many people who enjoyed coming in and out, but only two regulars: Jimmy Chesterfield and Robert Murdock. Robert’s wife, Caroline, would come often with him as well. But Robert was the only one of the two who came every day. 

“More coffee, Jimmy?” asked Cathy.

“One more then I better get,” he said in a strong southern accent. 

“More for me too, please,” said Robert, who was a native Arizonan, so his accent was sharp.

“Sure thing. You, Caroline?”

“No thank you,” Caroline smiled, “I’ve got some.”

“You guys stay safe tonight. Jimmy, if you’re going to walk home tonight like you sometimes do, please let me drive you instead. That man is still out there somewhere, and I couldn’t take another death; especially if it were you guys “

“Oh, no. I’m driving tonight. Thank you though.”

“Yeah, you’re welcome.”

The three customers were drinking their coffee and finishing up their dinner. It was almost ten at night and that’s when the café closed. Once Jimmy was finished, he paid Cathy, gave her a fifteen-dollar tip, then left to his car.

As Jimmy whistled down the sidewalk to his car, he heard a noise in the bushes. It sounded like somebody had been in there and moved the hedge around. Jimmy stopped, tilted his head, and when someone jumped out, Jimmy’s eyes widened like the Amazon River… it was none other than Slicer. Jimmy got a good look at Slicer; too much in shock to move. Slicer stood there for about five seconds to give Jimmy the scare of his life, then grappled his right arm with the full-force strike of his whip sword and sliced his arm. After that, he felt an adrenaline rush and kept going with anguish and animosity. Blood and guts spewed like vomit all over the sidewalk and all over Slicer, but he didn’t care, he loved it. Jimmy screamed a manly, yet high-pitched scream of agony and departure. He knew this was it. There was no point in trying to get away. After Slicer was finished, and Jimmy Chesterfield was dead, he entered Cathy’s Café.

He opened the glass door, then stood there as he usually does, waiting for a reaction from the bunch. They looked over with jaws about six-feet-wide, nothing to really say. Finally, Cathy spoke:

“I’m calling the police if you don’t skedaddle!” 

He still stood there, petrified as wood.

“That’s it! I’m calling 911!”

Cathy reached for the white telephone hanging from the wall and before she knew it, she got whipped. The pain was excruciating; nothing but chains and razor blades hitting her flesh. It wasn’t until she saw her own blood rushing to the linoleum that she shrieked. 

“Caroline! Robert! Fucking do something!”

The two were in such shock that they couldn’t move. Both shaking vigorously, like maracas.

“I’m suh-suh-sorry… Ca-Ca-Cathy…” Caroline’s voice shivered.

“You guys are next-Aah! And it’s gonna… you’re gonna… oh my God! Please stop! Please!” he kept whipping her as she spoke.

“I’m sorry,” said Robert.

“No…” Cathy finally caught her breath. “But you’re gonna be.”

Slicer started to whip harder and faster, more force. He whipped and whipped until the screaming finally stopped and she had collapsed onto the floor, a heartbeat as nonexistent as Bigfoot. 

“She’s… gone…” Robert sobbed, Caroline tearing up along with him.

Slicer stomped slowly towards Caroline and Robert. He lifted up the counter entrance way and grappled onto Robert.

“No!” Caroline’s voice shook.

Slicer, then, slid his whip chain across Caroline’s neck, slitting her throat, Caroline falling immediately and rapidly to the floor.

“Help! Somebody help!” Robert yelled.

Slicer whipped Robert like a jockey whipping his racehorse. You could hear that chains and razor blades slapping his back, excruciating and unimaginable pain.

When Robert became deceased, Slicer was on his merry way out the cafe’ door.

II

Middleton High School was frantic and careful about Slicer. They had made up a system where nobody is allowed to be alone. They went to the bathroom together and when the students used the stalls, another student had to watch the stalls, making sure Slicer wasn’t around. The students kept their cellphones handy, and the staff wanted the students to keep their phones on at all times, but still not allowing them to text in class. There was a spot, right behind the bleachers at the football field where Sadie, her boyfriend Derek, and Holly all stood to smoke. No, they were obviously not allowed to smoke on campus, but they did anyway, trying their best not to get caught.

“So Derek, who do you think the killer is?” asked Holly.

Derek kept making out with Sadie, ignoring Holly.

“Derek?!”

He kept going.

“Hello?!”

“What, damnit!” Derek was annoyed.

“Never mind. Jesus.”

“Well thanks for the interruption.”

Sadie cleared her throat.

“It’s all right, Derek. Let’s just finish our cigarettes and head to class. Class starts in ten anyway and we need to hurry up,” said Sadie.

Derek sighed. “Fine.”

“Bae, you almost done?” Sadie asked Holly.

Holly showed Sadie her almost-full cigarette.

“Same,” said Sadie. “We better hurry it up because we still need time to lotion and spray ourselves.”

“Okay.”

Holly finished up her cigarette and whilst Sadie and Derek stayed at the field,  Holly traveled back to class. As she was walking down the hill, she noticed something quite peculiar: a man in a pink and white suit with bunny ears, carrying an Urumi sword. Holly screamed so hard that she felt lightheaded. She started to run, but was so lightheaded that she fainted. She woke up to being whipped rapidly and excruciatingly by Slicer. Her screams were covered by a piece of masking tape that Slicer wrapped around her mouth. Her breathing patterns were fluctuating from heavy to non-existent, her eyes kept rolling back, drifting in and out of consciousness, and the pain slowly started to fade as she was dying. The blades mixed in with the chain left multiple wounds onto Holly. Holly died a slow, painful death. Slicer left Holly where he was then headed East. Sadie and Derek were finally finished, and they quickly headed to class before the bell rang. But on their way there, they found Holly.

“Oh my God… oh my… oh my God!” exclaimed Sadie in a panicked tone. She rushed down to hold Holly, cradling her head in Sadie’s arms.

“Babe, we’ve gotta get to class!” yelled Derek.

“Not without Holly!” she cried.

“Holly is dead! We’ve gotta go. Now!”

“I’m not leaving her,” Sadie shook her head rapidly in tears.

“Fine. Stay here. Get in trouble. I got written up six times already. Principal Garrett says if I get written up one more time, my ass is grass.”

“Leave then! I’m staying!” 

“Okay, I’m gonna go get help. All right?”

“Yeah. Please do,” she said.

“I’ll be right back.”

“Don’t take long.”

“Promise.”

Derek went to go get help and came back with his history teacher, Mr. Blevins.

“Hey, what’s going—oh my God!” he looked down and saw Holly’s deceased body, cut up and bloody.

“I’m calling 911. Everything will be okay, Sadie. I know Holly was your friend.”

Best friend,” Sadie corrected.

“Well, let me get them on the phone. I promise you that Holly will get justice. This man will be locked up for good.”

“Yeah, I hope they catch him,” Sadie sighed.

“They will. Okay?” Mr. Blevins crouched down to his knees and gave Sadie a hug. “You go ahead and go on home. In fact, all students can go home early today.”

Heather comes to pick Sadie and Jade home from school. She honked and the girls got into the car.

“Well, at least they got to let you go home early,” Heather said to Sadie.

“Oh, mom, I’m so scared,” said Sadie.

“I know, baby. We all are. Your dad is just freaking out. They’re going to catch this bastard; I can promise you that.”

“But… what if it’s too late?”

“As long as you’re safe in the house at all times, and nobody is alone, we’ve got this.”

“I love you, mom.” Sadie rested her head on Heather’s shoulder.

“I love you too.”

When Sadie got home, she got a surprised visit from a former friend, Ashley Cider.

“Sadie, I know you’re a part of this shit. You motherfucker!” yelled the girl. 

“What’re you talking about? Why the hell would I be a part of this? It’s hell!” cried Sadie.

She laughed, “do me a favor and drop dead.”

Ashley walked home; she lived two houses down. About an hour later, Heather and the girls were watching the news. The headline read Slicer Strikes Again!

“Slicer had yet another brutal killing today. Ashley Cider, 17, was walking home to her house when, unfortunately, Slicer the masochistic rabbit struck again! Folks, I very much advise you to stay home with your families. Parents, please keep your children safe. Children, please keep your families safe. Have a great evening, Middleton.”

“Well, at least she died knowing it wasn’t me,” Sadie shrugged her shoulders.

“You think this is funny, do you?” asked Heather.

“No, mom. I don’t.”

“Hey, how about we play a board game? I know! Let’s play ‘Don’t Get Stabbed’!” smiled Jade, trying to take the family’s mind off the happenings.

“That’s kind of ironic actually,” Sadie laughed.

“Let’s do it!” Jade exclaimed.

“Sorry, girls. I’m just going to go to bed,” said Heather.

“Mom, it’s five o’clock!” exclaimed Sadie.

“Yeah, and it’s a make-it-yourself night. I love you girls. Stay together always, I cannot lose you. I’m going to keep my phone off silent mode and on me at all times. Call if you need me. Please, girls,” said Heather.

“You got it, mom!” said Sadie.

“Yeah, you got it,” said Jade.

“Goodnight, lovelies.”

“Goodnight, mom,” said both girls.

As Heather drifted slowly into her room, Sadie couldn’t help but wonder where Argon was, and if he was okay.

“Have you seen dad?” Sadie asked Jade.

“Na-uh. Kinda getting a little freaked.”

“Same,” Sadie said in relief. “I thought I was the only one.”

“No, trust me, you’re not.”

Around midnight, Slicer struck again. It was this elderly couple who lived on the hill, two miles away from Heather and Argon’s. The elderly couple were walking out of their car and into their house when suddenly, two bunny ears creeped beyond the bushes. He popped out and grappled the old lady’s neck with the whip sword, then as he sliced her throat and she fell quickly, he started whipping the old man, getting faster and faster with every heartbeat. The man’s existence soon deteriorated as well as the woman. Slicer left them there to rot, then pranced on.

The next morning, Sadie had awoken only to find out that according to the news that was going on the television when Sadie turned it on, Slicer had killed the elderly couple. Sadie, panicked, ran downstairs to tell Heather, but she already knew. Sadie noticed Heather on the sofa, distraught because she knew the nice elderly couple but she was also worried. She knew Slicer was getting closer and closer to her and her family. If only there was a way to move out of this shit town before they get slaughtered.

Crash! Suddenly the windows collapsed. There came Slicer flying through the window. Heather screamed then started to run, but Slicer grabbed ahold of her. Outside in the grass, Sadie and Jade heard their mom scream. They both looked at each other, then sprinted off outside. They tried to get to her but it was too late; Slicer had chopped Heathers head off with the blades of his Urumi sword. Heather’s head was like on the ground.

“You bastard! Yelled Sadie. 

She tried to chop his head off by yanking the whip sword out of Slicer’s hand, but ended up only barely cutting the suit. But… this guy looked awfully familiar. Was it… couldn’t be…

“Dad…?”


FIN.

Leave a comment